Skip to main content

Changes to roles and permissions

New permissions, View Changes and Reports permission to Admin Lite roles, and Smart View.

J
Written by Jordan Hutchinson

We're making some upcoming changes to roles and permissions that will affect how certain users access key areas of the system. These changes are planned to be released on the evening of Thursday, 15 October.

The changes cover three areas:

⚠️Important! If you have any concerns about these changes, contact our support team with your concerns before Wednesday, 14 October.

  • A new View Changes tab permission under the Payroll permission group.

  • The addition of the Reports permission to Company Admin Lite and Group Admin Lite roles.

  • The removal of the Smart View tab from Company Admin Lite and Group Admin Lite roles.


View Changes tab permission

The Changes tab appears in several payroll pages and provides a list of pay elements applied to team members.

We are introducing a new View Changes tab permission under the existing Payroll permission group. This permission will manage the visibility of the Changes tab across the following views:

  • Company overview.

  • Current period.

  • History.

  • Supplementary pay runs.

Who is affected?

The permission will be added to all roles except the Department Admin role.

For any admin who currently has the Payroll permission group set to visible, the 'View changes tab' permission will be turned on by default. This ensures their existing experience is maintained.

For any admin who currently has the Payroll permission group set to not visible, the 'View changes tab' permission will be turned off by default.

What changes when the View Changes tab permission is turned off?

With the permission turned off, admins will lose access to the Changes tab in the following areas:

  • Company overview (Super User, Team Member, and Group Admin roles only).

  • Current period (calculated and uncalculated).

  • History.

  • Supplementary pay runs.

What changes when the View Changes tab permission is turned on?

There will be no changes for Super User, Team Member, Group Admin, or Company Admin users who have the permission turned on.

The Changes tab will be visible in more areas for Company Admin Lite and Group Admin Lite users with the permission turned on. Going forward, these users will also have access to the Changes tab in:

  • Current period (uncalculated).

  • History and supplementary pay runs (if they have the History permission set to visible).


Reports permission changes

We are including the existing Reports permission in the Company Admin Lite and Group Admin Lite roles.

For all existing Company Admin Lite and Group Admin Lite users, the permission will be turned on by default to maintain their existing experience.

What changes when the Reports permission is turned off?

With the permission turned off, admins will lose access to certain reporting functionality depending on their role.

All users with the Reports permission turned off will lose access to reports in the Supplementary pay runs, as well as the bulk reports and payslips buttons in the:

  • Current period (calculated).

  • History.

  • Supplementary pay runs.

Company Admin Lite and Group Admin Lite users with the Reports permission turned off will also lose the ability to view and download reports in the:

  • Previous period.

  • Current period (calculated).

  • History.

What changes when the Reports permission is turned on?

For users with the Reports permission already turned on, there will be no changes to their experience.


Smart View tab visibility changes

The Smart View tab will no longer be visible to Company Admin Lite or Group Admin Lite users.

This change applies in both of the following areas:

  • Current period (calculated).

  • History (if they have the History permission set to visible).

There will be no changes for Super User, Team Member, Group Admin or Company Admin users.

Did this answer your question?